Princely states (Vorstenlanden) of central Java after 1830


Although the territorial revisions of 1830 greatly simplified the boundaries between Surakarta, Yogyakarta and the Dutch, Surakarta retained a large number of enclaves within Dutch territory.  These were all transferred to Dutch administration in the course of the 19th century.

Further reading

Houben, Vincent J. H., Kraton and Kumpeni: Surakarta and Yogyakarta, 1830-1870.  Leiden:  KITLV Press, 1994.

Larson, George D., Prelude to revolution: palaces and politics in Surakarta, 1912-1942. Dordrecht: Foris, 1987.

Map number from Cribb, Historical Atlas of Indonesia (2000)


Year span

1830 - 1850